≡ Menu

Indian Premier League (IPL) : BCCI’s 3 million dollar league

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) launched its own international Twenty20 League called the Indian Premiere League (IPL) to challenge Subhash Chandra’s Indian Cricket League (ICL) 

Indian Premier League Launch

Image : Indian Premier League (IPL), BCCI’s multimillion dollar league launch

Indian Premiere League (IPL) Tournaments Trivia

44-day tournament is scheduled to start in April 2008
8 teams from 4 nations would take part in this tournament.
-Tournament will have 59 matches.
-Matches will be played on Saturdays, between 5 pm and 8 pm.
-Total prize money is around $3 million – 3 times more than ICL ( ICL announced $1 million as price money )
-Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne have confirmed their association with the league

Governing council for the Indian Premiere League (IPL)

-BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi was named as its convenor
-Former Indian captain Ravi Shastri
-Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar
-Former Indian captain MAK “Tiger” Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi
-Politician Arun Jaitley and Rajiv Shulka
-Businessman Chirayu Amin
-Punjab Cricket Association President IS Bindra

precisely .. no doubt Indian Cricket League and Indian Premier League will help accelerate the Indian cricket.

{ 1 comment… add one }

Leave a Comment