≡ Menu

2008 Nobel Prize in Physics

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace.

The 2008 Nobel prize winners in Physics has been revealed.

1/2 of the prize for Makoto Kobayashi

  • Yoichiro Nambu – USA – Enrico Fermi Institute, University of Chicago Chicago, IL, USA

Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa share 1/4 of the prize

  • Makoto Kobayashi – Japan – High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK) Tsukuba, Japan
  • Toshihide Maskawa – Japan – Kyoto Sangyo University; Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics (YITP), Kyoto University Kyoto, Japan

Japanese scientists Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa – for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature

Tokyo-born US citizen Yoichiro Nambu – For his discovery of the mechanism of ‘spontaneous broken symmetry in sub-atomic physics’.

{ 2 comments… add one }
  • Christy Sweet November 12, 2008, 4:36 pm


Leave a Comment