≡ Menu

IAEA – Promoting Nuclear Non-Proliferation

The Role of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is to promote Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Nuclear Disarmament.

The IAEA was created in 1957 in response to the deep fears and expectations resulting from the discovery of nuclear energy. The IAEA is the world´s center of cooperation in the nuclear field. It was set up as the world´s “Atoms for Peace” organization in 1957 within the United Nations family. IAEA works with its Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote safe, secure and peaceful nuclear technologies.

IAEA Headquarters

The IAEA Secretariat is headquartered at the Vienna International Centre in Vienna, Austria. Operational liaison and regional offices are located in Geneva, Switzerland; New York, USA; Toronto, Canada; and Tokyo, Japan.

IAEA Member States

As of March 2007, the IAEA has 144 Member States.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment